Herr Niune

I was inspired to create this picture by the Codex Manesse manuscript (319r).    My version is somewhat slimmed down from the original, with the removal of the heraldic identifiers and two of the fish, leaving the remainder more symmetrical.

I used DMC cottons: mouliné and perlé, with additional detail in gold thread and beading.      The stitches are a modern version of opus anglicanum, comprising of laid and couched threads and split stem stitch.   One maiden’s flowered headdress is constructed from French knots.   Faces, hands and the central woman’s veil are stitched in mouliné so that the finished texture appears finer and smoother than that of the clothing and, of course, the boat and paddles!

The border is machine appliquéd felt.  I chose to machine this because I had managed to give myself tendinitis in a thumb and two fingers when I was sewing the later stages of the main embroidery section.  Painful lessons learned and I have since adapted my technique to avoid this in future.

5 thoughts on “Herr Niune

  1. Monika says:

    What kind of stitch did you use?

    • lizheffner says:

      The boat and paddles are made out of laid threads with back stitches in the semblance of couching; I usually couch properly but just liked the look of it better this way for this particular design. There are French knots in the red and white flower garland; everything else is in split stem stitch.

  2. Kerri says:

    Your work is exquisite. The hair and facial features are so lovely.

    • lizheffner says:

      Thank you! I think I have much improving to do when I consider my work versus some of the other work out there, but that seems to be a viewpoint inherent in most of us who craft, as you’ll probably attest to yourself!

      • Kerri says:

        Yes, perfectionism seems to be part and parcel of striving for excellence. It can be a burden, but one worth bearing when all things come together in the way you had hoped for.

Leave a Reply

