Taking Smaug Seriously

I’ve finished the preparation for my Smaug project and it’s lying in wait for me like its namesake, framed up and stabilised on canvas backing fabric.

Meanwhile, I’ve had something of an emotional 48 hours, debating the subject of cost of materials with my husband. He, being the lovely man that he is, has now assisted me in drawing up a strategy that means we can afford to get better materials for my next three pieces. (Pause for much W00tage, as some of my friends would say…and another pause to marvel at the fact that the Word Press spellchecker doesn’t balk at that word at all!) I love the way Gandalf turned out, but my Smaug design is a different animal entirely and practically begs to be taken seriously – and with a different level of seriousness to boot. That means silk and it means 100% silk.

Leave a Reply

