Smaug, work in progress

I must be a glutton for punishment in deciding that I would fill in Smaug’s night sky background with, of all things, split stitch. It’s the fault of the Two Trees for this really: that was a picture on a much smaller scale than Smaug, but I liked the woven texture that the split stitch sky imparted in that piece. I could use Bayeux stitch (laid and couched work) and it would progress farther faster while using a lot less silk, but I just don’t feel right about the texture it would lend to the piece in that specific place. Bayeux stitch will work nicely for the mountain side, but that’s a way off in the future at this juncture.

In Smaug, the split stitch for sky is only a background layer, as I will be stitching details (e.g. clouds, expanded lunar corona, rising smoke, stars) on top of the black, but even so there is a lot of work involved. Cue my latest ‘work in progress’ picture, which also manages to showcase my use of vanishing pen in order to mess about with cartoon lines that I later decided I didn’t like. I’m deliberately aiming at giving a very slightly uneven texture to these ‘sky’ stitches, as I intend to whip around some of them with filament silk, which would be more difficult if every stitch were flat to the fabric.

Anyway, here he is so you can see how he’s coming along after a week:

Smaug, WIP

2 thoughts on “Smaug, work in progress

  1. Kerri says:

    I can so easily relate to choosing the difficult path in your creative work… all in a good cause. So far so good!

Leave a Reply

