Exciting Times

Three of my pieces: Gandalf, Grail Knight and The Two Trees will be exhibited for the first time this weekend in Giclee print form at Oxonmoot in England. Oxonmoot is the annual gathering of the Tolkien Society and an event that I intend to attend next year for the first time.

The prints were almost literally hot from the press (or the drum in the case of Giclee) and were the very first prints from the first edition run of these pieces. They were delivered _just_ in time for me to send them to England by UPS courier, where they arrived on Tuesday. There may have been some squeaking in my household due to relief at the fact that the timing worked out in the end! I owe serious thanks to some people, who will be rightly recognised on my official website.

We are awaiting some feedback on print size from the weekend before proceeding with the rest of the run; it seems likely that two of the pieces will be printed at slightly larger than actual size, especially since the extra cost of doing this is not prohibitive and adds only a minimal amount to the retail cost of each print. I otherwise thought that the first Giclee prints were incredible and so cannot wait to hear what people think!

Meanwhile, work continues apace on Smaug. I have a lot of stitching and goldwork still to do, but he is starting to come together very nicely. At the moment I am working intensively in a floral area of the border and am itching to begin the Or Nué of Smaug himself and the mountain beneath him, but order guidelines dictate that the goldwork is done last so I have to wait! Once I have completed a bit more of the border area, I will put up some more work-in-progress pictures. Smaug will eventually be offered in Giclee and digital offset print form.

In other news, I’ve just joined the Embroiderer’s Guild of America and The Embroidery Guild (UK), my official website goes live within the next few days and I’m planning a trip to Seville, Spain in order to see one of my pieces hanging in an exhibit there in November! Exciting times indeed!

Leave a Reply

